Hey There Stranger

What’s your name?

I’ve been looking for you.

The trees are finally starting to turn even though it isn’t winter here and it will never be winter here. They’re confused by the last week of rain and the two, yes, count them, two days of biting cold that chased us out in our jackets and lined the electric company’s pockets with our hot, humid rooms.

I’ve been looking for you.

Judging by your grin I see poetry isn’t dead. It’s just sleeping. Well, wake it up, won’t you. I’m bored as hell.

I’ve been looking for you.

I can’t sleep. Every night I lie in bed listening to the cat snore. Yes I suppose I could get up and do something but I always find myself too paralyzed to do anything except think about why I can’t sleep:

I’ve been looking for you.

I don’t know what you look like and I don’t have your phone number so I can’t call you.

I’m not on Facebook so I can’t friend you.

I’ve been looking for you.

There are no daffodils here. Or none that I have seen on the road between work, Starbucks, and the doctor.

There are only cars that go way too fast and scraps of Spanish Moss and Mardi Gras beads hanging from the trees. Everyone here moves way too fast.

I’ve been looking for you.

How do you keep on living when the sun sets at 5PM?

How do you endure the constant press of people screaming about football and nothing else? What horrible place did you come from that made you end up here? Maybe we could reminisce about home together.

And where are you going now? Well you tell me? Maybe we can go there together.

I’ve been looking for you.

Published by

409writinglife

Jessica Halsey was born in Arkansas and has lived most of her life in the United States and Panama. She earned a BA in Sociology from Randolph-Macon Woman's College and an MFA in Creative Writing from Goddard College. Would you like to know more?

Leave a Reply

