My Lemon Bag

Represents 10 repressed years of struggle with grief; emotional processing of the loss of my father in 2004 and my divorce in 2014. 

My lemon bag is a symbol of the insecurity I feel when I am without. A bag. To put things in. To keep things safe in. 

My lemon bag is a safety blanket even though I can’t fit my harmonica or a notebook inside. 

My lemon bag is a comfort object.

My lemon bag sparks joy.

I am a bag addict.

Published by

409writinglife

Jessica Halsey was born in Arkansas and has lived most of her life in the United States and Panama. She earned a BA in Sociology from Randolph-Macon Woman's College and an MFA in Creative Writing from Goddard College. Would you like to know more?

Leave a Reply

